Phyllis Lambert

Phyllis Lambert, M.S. Arch., OAQ, FRAIC, is Founding Director and Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) in Montréal. The leading international research centre and museum devoted to the art of architecture, the CCA was founded by Lambert in 1979 as a new form of cultural institution to build public awareness of the role of architecture in society, to promote scholarly research in the field, and to stimulate innovation in design practice.

Lambert first made architectural history as the Director of Planning of the Seagram Building (1954-58) in New York City. She is recognized internationally both for her contribution in advancing contemporary architecture and for her concern for the social issues of urban conservation and the role of architecture in the public realm. With a commitment to intervention in the urban fabric, Lambert founded Héritage Montréal in 1975, and four years later was instrumental in establishing the Société d’Amélioration de Milton-Parc, the largest non-profit cooperative housing renovation undertaking in Canada. In 1996, Lambert formed the Fonds d’Investissement de Montréal (FIM), the only private investment fund in Canada participating in the revitalization of housing in low- and medium-income neighbourhoods. From 1984 to 2007, she served on the Board of the Vieux Port de Montréal, which is credited with the transformation of this historic area from industrial to societal use. She is currently a participant in the revival of Montréal’s downtown west quarter, through the Table de concertation du centre-ville ouest, the roundtable she initiated in 2005. Lambert’s active involvement in shaping the city also continues through the Institut de politiques alternatives de Montréal (IPAM) which she presides, an independent think tank contributing long-term viable urban planning, economic and sustainable development, and local democracy in Montréal.

Phyllis Lambert has pioneered publications on photography and architecture, landscape, gardens, and the history of Montréal, as well as leading architects. For her major contributions to scholarship and architecture, as well as a tireless commitment to civic activism, Phyllis Lambert has been recognized with numerous awards and distinctions. She holds honorary degrees from 27 universities in North America and Europe. Lambert is recipient of the Prix Gérard-Morisset; the World Monuments Fund’s Hadrian Award; the Prix d’Excellence de l’Opération patrimoine architectural of the City of Montréal and Héritage Montréal; the Preservation League of New York State’s Pillar of New York Award; the Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service; and the 2008 Jane Jacobs Lifetime Achievement Award of the Canadian Urban Institute, Toronto.

Phyllis Lambert has received the highest civil honours in Canada as Companion of the Order of Canada and Grand Officier de l’Ordre National du Québec. France has appointed her Commander of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, and l’Assemblée Parlementaire de la Francophonie has named her Chevalier of the Ordre de la Pléiade. Lambert is also an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects and the American Institute of Architects, and a Fellow of the Society of Architectural Historians.

Phyllis Lambert

Phyllis Lambert, M.S. Arch., OAQ, FIRAC, est directeur fondateur et président du Conseil des fiduciaires du Centre Canadien d’Architecture (CCA) à Montréal, le plus important centre international de recherche et musée d’architecture. Fondé en 1979 par Mme Lambert, le CCA est un établissement culturel avant-gardiste dont la mission consiste à sensibiliser le public au rôle de l’architecture dans la société, à promouvoir la recherche de haut niveau dans ce domaine et à favoriser l’innovation dans la pratique du design.

Mme Lambert a marqué l’histoire de l’architecture alors qu’elle était directeur de la planification pour le Seagram Building (1954-1958) à New York. Elle est, depuis, reconnue au sein de la communauté internationale pour sa contribution à l’avancement de l’architecture contemporaine et pour sa défense des aspects sociaux de la conservation du patrimoine urbain ainsi que de la dimension publique de l’architecture. Activement engagée dans la conservation du patrimoine et du tissu urbain, Mme Lambert a fondé Héritage Montréal, en 1975. Quatre ans plus tard, elle a joué un rôle déterminant dans la création de la Société d’amélioration de Milton-Parc, projet de rénovation d’habitation coopératif le plus important au Canada. En 1996, elle a créé le Fonds d’investissement de Montréal (FIM), le seul fonds privé au Canada qui vise à la revitalisation des quartiers défavorisés en rénovant les bâtiments résidentiels. De 1984 à 2007, Mme Lambert était membre du conseil d’administration de la Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal. Aujourd’hui elle participe à la revitalisation du centre-ville Ouest par l’entremise de la Table de concertation du centre-ville Ouest, regroupement dont elle a pris l’initiative en 2005. Phyllis Lambert prolonge avec l’Institut de politiques alternatives de Montréal (IPAM) qu’elle préside, son engagement actif envers la ville et son façonnement. Laboratoire d’idées indépendant (« think tank »), l’Institut a pour mission de contribuer à long terme à la planification urbaine viable de Montréal, à son développement économique et durable ainsi qu’à la démocratie locale.

Phyllis Lambert est l’auteur de plusieurs publications sur la photographie et l’architecture, l’aménagement paysager et les jardins, l’histoire de Montréal, de même que sur des architectes de renom. Sa contribution à des projets de recherche en architecture et son engagement dans l’activisme urbain lui ont valu de nombreuses distinctions et récompenses. Elle est titulaire de doctorats honorifiques de vingt-sept universités d’Amérique du Nord et de l’Europe. Parmi ses nombreux récompenses citons le prix Gérard-Morisset; le Hadrien du World Monuments Fund; le prix d’excellence de l’Opération patrimoine architectural, de la ville de Montréal et Héritage Montréal; le Pillar of New York, du Preservation League of New York; le prix Woodrow Wilson for Public Service; et le prix Jane Jacobs 2008 de l’Institut urbain du Canada, Toronto, pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations.

Phyllis Lambert est titulaire des plus hautes distinctions civiles au Canada, soit Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada et Grand Officier de l’Ordre national du Québec. La France l’a élevée au titre de Commandeur dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, et l’Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie l’a nommée Chevalier de l’Ordre de la Pléiade. Mme Lambert est aussi Honorary Fellow du Royal Institute of British Architects et du American Institute of Architects, et Fellow de la Society of Architectural Historians.