The Institute of Policy Alternatives of Montréal (IPAM)

The Institut de politiques alternatives de Montréal (IPAM) is an independent organization devoted to fostering and promoting debate on urban development and democracy, using a multifaceted approach focused on civil society. Founded on September 12, 2009, the organization seeks to help create a new vision of Montréal for the next generation through a holistic, multi-scalar approach, as well as proposing strategies for achieving this new vision.

IPAM’s founders and participants come from a wide range of Montréal organizations and socio-economic spheres: universities, business, community organizations, the women’s movement, social economy activists, minority communities, the arts and the environmental movement.

The organization’s structure is based on sectoral priorities, of which there are currently five:

– economic and cultural development;

– poverty, social housing, social justice and community development;

– democracy and citizenship;

– urban planning, heritage and transportation;

– ecology and sustainable development.

The members of IPAM are individuals who wish to make an active contribution to these areas of activity. IPAM is not intended to replace existing bodies such as community organizations, associations, public corporations and political institutions.

IPAM’s activities are focused on two areas:

    • Research, open debate and awareness-raising by hosting public forums, conferences and seminars dealing with an extensive range of urban issues;
  • Monitoring municipal government activities by conducting an annual review of Ville de Montréal reports concerning urban planning and reports issued by the Office de consultation publique de Montréal and by the Ombudsman.

As its inaugural action, IPAM is calling for a citizens’ summit on the future of Montréal, in partnership with civil society, as a forum for the exchange of ideas and knowledge that can provide guidance to the municipal administration during its new mandate.

L’Institut de politiques alternatives de Montréal (IPAM)

L’Institut de politiques alternatives de Montreal (IPAM) est un organisme indépendant qui a pour mission de susciter et promouvoir la réflexion sur le développement urbain et la démocratie dans une approche transversale articulée avec la société civile.  Fondé le 12 septembre 2009, il souhaite contribuer à bâtir une vision de Montréal pour la prochaine génération par une approche intégrée transversale et multi scalaire et proposer des stratégies à cette fin.

Les fondateurs et collaborateurs de l’IPAM sont issus d’une variété d’organismes et de secteurs socio-économiques de Montréal : institutions universitaires, milieu des affaires, secteur communautaire, mouvement des femmes, économie sociale, communautés ethnoculturelles, milieu de la culture et mouvement écologiste.

La structure de l’IPAM repose sur des chantiers sectoriels, pour le moment au nombre de cinq:

– développement économique et culturel;

– pauvreté, logement social, justice sociale et développement communautaire;

– démocratie et citoyenneté;

– planification urbaine, patrimoine et transport;

– écologie et développement durable.

Les membres de l’IPAM se recrutent parmi les personnes qui souhaitent s’engager activement dans les travaux des chantiers. L’IPAM n’entend pas se substituer aux organisations et aux institutions existantes, tant les organismes communautaires ou associatifs que les institutions publiques ou politiques.

Les activités de l’IPAM se concentreront sur deux volets soit :

    • Recherche, diffusion et débats publics via l’organisation de forums publics, de conférences et de séminaires qui aborderont un vaste éventail d’enjeux dans la planification urbaine ;
  • Suivi et dispositif de veille  des interventions de l’Administration municipale en procédant à une évaluation annuelle des rapports déposés par la Ville de Montréal en ce qui a trait au plan d’urbanisme, au rapport annuel de l’Office de consultation publique de Montréal ou au rapport de l’Ombudsman.

A titre de premier geste, l’IPAM souhaite dès à présent la tenue d’un sommet des citoyens sur l’avenir de Montréal, en partenariat avec la société civile, permettant ainsi un échange d’idées et d’expériences pouvant guider l’Administration dans le cadre de son nouveau mandat.