IPAM Report on the Management and Development Plan

Last September, the council of the agglomeration of the City of Montreal presented its draft of the Management and Development Plan (SAD). Considering the importance of this document for the future of Montreal, on the 22nd September IPAM organised a round table for reflecting, with its partners, on the draft of the Plan and the elements that must be changed or added in order to respond to the present and future issues of the Montreal agglomeration. The discussion, the minutes of which can be found in the Annex, was rich in debate and allowed the identification of priorities for the IPAM community. This report is inspired by such reflections from the round table as well as from discussions that were had afterwards within IPAM.

Mémoire_IPAM_-_Schéma_daménagement_et_de_développemen-t_de_Montréal

Click here to download the report.

(Translate this document for IPAM)

Minutes of the IPAM Round Table of September 22, 2014 on the Montreal Urban Agglomeration Land Use and Development Plan (SAD)

At the invitation of the Institute for Policy Alternatives Montreal (IPAM), thirty Montreal participants gathered on Sept. 22, 2014, in order to discuss the draft of the Montréal Urban Agglomeration Land Use and Development Plan (SAD), the adoption of which is expected in late December 2014.

In the form of open discussion, the exchange allowed participants from diverse backgrounds to compare their perception of the situation and their ideas. The discussion focused on what to prioritize, monitoring mechanisms and the means to realize that which is envisioned in the document. The role of SAD and its relationship with the PMAD and the urban planning that Montreal and related cities will have subsequently produced were also explored. It is expected that the discussions which took place at the round table will feed everyone’s reflections as part of the public consultations planned in the Fall.

Read (in French) the  minutes of the IPAM Round Table of 22 September 2014

Table-ronde_22septembre2014_compte-rendu1

Click here to download the minutes.

(Translate this document for IPAM)

Montreal Urban Agglomeration Land Use and Development Plan (Draft – September 2014)


The Regional Plan sets guidelines for the agglomeration’s physical organization accompanied by a regional vision of its development. It helps guide development choices and decisions for all the agglomeration’s municipalities.

The Plan is built on the concept of sustainable development aimed at improving everyone’s life quality, in line with three primary objectives:

  • Promoting an excellent living environment.
  • Fuelling vitality of the Urban Agglomeration and its central core.
  • Enhancing areas of interest.
Read in full: Plan-September-Draft
.

Round Table on the surplus hospital sites of Montréal

On February 13th, the second round table of the Montreal Institute for Alternative Policy (IPAM) was held on the surplus hospital sites in Montreal. This meeting brought together 45 participants from politics, academic and civil society was rich in ideas and proposals.

We are pleased to send you today the presentation document and the summary of the exchanges that took place during the event:

IPAM_T-R_13-fév2014_présentation-totale

Click here to download the presentation.

IPAM_Table-ronde_13-février2014_compte-rendu

Click here to download the minutes.

(Translate these documents for IPAM)

The Right to Housing and the Right to the City: An Analysis from the Front Lines

Event location : Concordia University, Hall Building.

16th National Metropolis Conference Partnering for Success: Facilitating Integration and Inclusion

The National Metropolis Conference is an annual forum for researchers, policy makers, representatives from community and settlement organizations to get together to share and exchange knowledge and experience in the field of immigration and settlement.

The 16th National Metropolis Conference will be held on March 12th-15th, 2014 at the Hilton Lac-Lemay, in Gatineau, Quebec.

The 2014 National Metropolis Conference will focus on future immigration trends and policies and the challenges and opportunities that they create for Canadian society. The conference will include plenary panels with distinguished speakers and workshop and roundtable sessions on a wide variety of topics related to immigration and diversity.

More information : http://www.acs-aec.ca/en/events/other-acs-events/16th-national-metropolis-conference-partnering-for-success-facilitating-integration-inclusion/

Mémoire de l’IPAM sur le schéma d’aménagement et de développement

En septembre dernier, le conseil d’agglomération de la Ville de Montréal présentait son projet de schéma d’aménagement et de développement de Montréal (SAD). Considérant l’importance de ce document pour l’avenir de Montréal, l’IPAM a organisé le 22 septembre dernier une table ronde pour réfléchir avec ses partenaires sur le projet de schéma et les éléments qu’il faudrait modifier ou ajouter afin de répondre aux enjeux présents et futurs de l’agglomération. La discussion, dont le compte-rendu se retrouve en annexe, fut riche en débats et a permis d’identifier des priorités pour la communauté de l’IPAM. Ce mémoire s’inspire des réflexions issues de la table ronde de même que des discussions qui se sont tenues au sein de l’IPAM par la suite.

Mémoire_IPAM_-_Schéma_daménagement_et_de_développemen-t_de_Montréal

Téléchargez le rapport ici.

Le compte rendu de la table ronde d’IPAM de 22 septembre 2014 sur le schéma d’aménagement et de développement de Montréal (SAD)

Sur invitation de l’Institut de politiques alternatives de Montréal (IPAM), une trentaine d’acteurs montréalais se sont réunis le 22 septembre 2014, dans le but d’échanger sur le projet de schéma d’aménagement et de développement de l’agglomération de Montréal (SAD), dont l’adoption est prévue à la fin décembre 2014.

Sous forme de discussion ouverte, les échanges ont permis aux participants de divers horizons de comparer leur perception de la problématique et leurs idées. La discussion a principalement porté sur les éléments à prioriser, les mécanismes de suivi et les moyens à mettre sur pied pour réaliser la vision projetée dans le document. Le rôle du SAD et son lien avec le PMAD et les plans d’urbanisme que Montréal et les villes liées auront à produire par la suite ont également été explorés. Il est attendu que les discussions ayant eu lieu lors de la table ronde alimenteront les réflexions de chacun dans le cadre des consultations publiques prévues pour l’automne.

Lire le compte rendu de la table ronde 22 septembre 2014 :

Table-ronde_22septembre2014_compte-rendu1

Téléchargez le compte rendu ici.

Schéma d’aménagement et de développement de l’agglomération de Montréal (projet septembre 2014)

C’est un document de planification qui établit les lignes directrices de l’organisation physique d’un territoire et propose une vision régionale de son développement. Le présent schéma vise à guider les choix et les décisions relatifs à l’aménagement du territoire de l’ensemble des municipalités de l’agglomération.

Le schéma prend résolument le parti d’un aménagement et d’un développement durables et mise tout particulièrement sur l’amélioration de la qualité de vie pour tous. Cette vision s’appuie sur trois grandes orientations :

  • Favoriser un cadre de vie de qualité ;
  • Soutenir le dynamisme de l’agglomération et du centre de la métropole ;
  • Mettre en valeur les territoires d’intérêt.
Lire au complet ici: Plan-September-Draft

Table ronde sur les sites excédentaires hospitaliers de Montréal

Le 13 février dernier s’est tenue la deuxième table ronde de l’Institut de politiques alternatives de Montréal (IPAM), portant sur les sites excédentaires hospitaliers à Montréal. Cette rencontre réunissant 45 participants des milieux politique, universitaire et de la société civile fut riche en idées et en propositions.

Il nous fait plaisir de vous transmettre aujourd’hui le document de présentation ainsi que le résumé des échanges ayant eu lieu au cours de l’événement.

IPAM_T-R_13-fév2014_présentation-totale

Téléchargez le présentation ici.

IPAM_Table-ronde_13-février2014_compte-rendu

Téléchargez le compte-rendu ici.

Le droit au logement et le droit de ville : un analyse de la première ligne

Adresse de l’évènement : Université Concordia, bâtiment Hall.

16e Congrès national de Metropolis Partenaires pour la réussite: faciliter l’intégration et l’inclusion

Le Congrés national de Métropolis est un forum annuel pour les chercheurs, les décideurs politiques et les représentants de communautés et d’organismes institutionnels pour se réunir et échanger connaissances et expériences dans les champs de l’immigration et de l’établissement.

Le 16e Congrés national de Métropolis se tiendra du 12 au 15 mars 2014 au Centre des congrès d’Ottawa, à Ottawa, Ontario. Le Congrès national de Métropolis 2014 se concentrera sur les futures tendances et politiques d’immigration et les défis et opportunités qu’ils créent pour la société canadienne. Le congrès incluera des séances plénières avec des orateurs éminents et des ateliers ainsi que des séances de tables rondes sur une large variété de sujets reliés à l’immigration et la diversité.

Pour plus d’informations : http://www.acs-aec.ca/fr/evenements/autres-evenements-aec/16e-congres-national-de-metropolis-partenaires-pour-la-reussite-faciliter-lintegration-linclusion-/