Blanche-Lemco-Van-Ginkel Prize : Two Nominations at IPAM

The Ordre des urbanistes du Québec announced the names of the 30 laureates of the Blanche-Lemco-Van-Ginkel Prize during its 50th anniversary gala which took place at the Palais des congrès de Montréal, last 23rd or October.

The Blanche-Lemco-Van-Ginkel Prize is awarded to non-urban planners of from all walks of society (citizens, elected officials, managers, promoters, professionnals, etc.) for their significant contribution to the growth of urban planning in Québec since 1963. The OUQ thus underscores that the improvement of our communities and the planning of our living environments concerns every citizen.

The OUQ also wanted to posthumously grant this title to Pauline Gauvin and Andrier Sainier for their contributions to urban planning.

IPAM is proud that two of its members, Dimitrios Roussopoulos and Ron Rayside, have also been nominated.

We invite you to consult the full list of laureates by following this link.

urban.studies@mcgill Seminar Series

The School of Urban Planning is hosting a seminar series entitled urban.studies@mcgill. The list of speakers for the Fall is attached.

The seminars take place on Fridays at 12:15 P.M., in Macdonald-Harrington 420.

To come :

Nov. 8. Charles Small on the geography of ethnicity and race

Nov. 15. Bruno Marot on the politics of development in Beirut

Nov. 22. Daniel Galland on metropolitan governance in Copenhagen

Nov. 29. Dimitri Roussopoulos on democracy after the Nov. 3 elections

Dec. 6. Christian Krelling on alternative fuels for public transit in Delhi