News

Participatory Democracy Forum: What future for Montréal?

While representative democracy seems to be in crisis, direct democracy at the local and regional level is currently fast-growing. A variety of new mechanisms allow citizens to participate in political decisions regarding the future of their cities. Whether we are talking about public consultations, co-design, online participation or participatory budgeting, the tools are various and […]

Commentary by IPAM on the draft regulation on public participation in urban planning and development

In December 2017, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Land Occupancy sought comments on the draft regulation on public participation in planning and development. Here is the Commentary of our board of directors, submitted to the ministry December 30, 2017. Click here to download the Commentary. (Translate this document for IPAM)

What future for public participation in Montreal?

  Translation of the open letter that appeared in the newspaper Le Devoir, October 28, 2017: The issue of participatory democracy deserves to be addressed during this election campaign in Montreal following the adoption of Bill 122 last June recognizing that municipalities are local governments. In the area of urban planning, the Bill allows municipalities […]

IPAM brief on Bill 121

March 29, 2017 Members of the Board of Directors of IPAM presented a brief on Bill 121 (An Act to increase the autonomy and powers of Ville de Montréal, the metropolis of Québec). This brief was presented at public hearings of the Committee on Planning and the Public Domain. Speaking on behalf of IPAM: Marie-Odile […]

IPAM brief on Bill 122

February 14, 2017 IPAM presented a brief (link below in French) to the public hearings of the Committee on Planning and the Public Domain on Bill 122 – An Act mainly to recognize that municipalities are local governments and to increase their autonomy and powers. Key points : sustainable development; the abolition of referendums; strengthen […]

Montréal-Métropole: Please share your ideas!

Thank you to everyone who attended our public forum held on November 30 at the Canadian Center for Architecture, as well as our January 30 roundtable at Rayside-Labossière. These two major events underscored the need for public debates as such, considering the potential impact of Bills 121 and 122. In addition, the strong social engagement […]

Actualités

Forum démocratie participative: quel avenir pour Montréal?

En partenariat avec la Ville de Montréal et la fondation McConnell, l’IPAM organise un forum public à la faculté d’aménagement de l’Université de Montréal qui donnera la parole à des groupes citoyens, des universitaires, des groupes communautaires, des professionnels de la participation et des élus. Expériences innovantes et initiatives citoyennes, d’ici et d’ailleurs, seront présentées […]

Commentaire de l’IPAM sur le projet de règlement sur la participation publique en matière d’aménagement et d’urbanisme

Au mois de décembre 2017, le ministre des Affaires municipales et de l’Occupation du territoire.à solliciter des commentaires sur le projet de règlement sur la participation publique en matière d’aménagement et d’urbanisme. Voici les commentaires de notre CA, soumis au ministre. Téléchargez les commentaires ici.

Quel avenir pour la participation publique à Montréal?

Lettre ouverte apparue dans les pages du journal Le Devoir, 28 octobre 2017 : La question de la démocratie participative mérite d’être abordée durant la campagne électorale à Montréal, suite à l’adoption du PL 122, en juin dernier, visant à reconnaître que les municipalités sont des gouvernements de proximité. Dans le domaine de l’urbanisme, le […]

Mémoire sur le PL121

Le 29 mars, 2017 Des membres du CA d`IPAM ont présenté notre mémoire sur le projet de loi 121 (loi augmentant l`autonomie et les pouvoirs de la Ville de Montréal – métropole du Québec). Ce mémoire était présenté aux audiences publiques sur l`aménagement du territoire. Présentateurs: Marie-Odile Trépanier, Louise Roy, et Michel Gariépy, membres du […]

Mémoire sur le PL122

Le 14 février, 2017 IPAM a présenté sa propre mémoire (ci-dessous) à la commission parlementaire sur l`aménagement du territoire, sur le nouveau projet de loi 122 – Loi visant principalement à reconnaître que les municipalités sont des gouvernements de proximité et à augmenter à ce titre leur autonomie et leurs pouvoirs. Points clés: développement durable; […]

Montréal-Métropole: Partagez-nous vos idées

Merci à ceux et celles qui ont assisté à notre grand forum publique qui a eu lieu le 30 novembre dernier au Centre Canadien d’Architecture, ainsi qu’à notre table-ronde du 30 janvier au Rayside-Labossière. Ces deux grands événements ont souligné la nécessité d’organiser des débats publiques comme tels, considérant l’impact potentiel des projets de loi […]